The 1991 season

(The following Secretary's Report was delivered by Andy Owen at the 1992 club AGM.)

We started the 1991 season in Division 4 South, the highest standard of league cricket we'd ever played. After good pre-season form we made a winning start to our league campagin, breaking past habits. We carried on our good form, winning 9 out of our first 10 games before hitting a minor slump and losing 2 out of the last 3 matches. We finished the season winning 10 out of 13 league matches and finishing on top of the table with an average of 17.0 points per match.

Out of our seven matches at home we won three and lost three and had one rained off, which was a bit disappointing. Our away from was excellent and we won all seven matches.

We were promoted to Division 3 and crowned champions, winning another Oak Shield - well done to everyone.

So in the 1992 season we will again be playing the highest standard of cricket in our 10th anniversary season.

Congratulations to Agha Khan, who managed a clean sweep of the batting and bowling averages and won the players' player of the year award as well. A special mention on the batting front also goes to John Horobin, Dave Allsopp, Agha Khan and Andy Owen, who all scored league fities, and to Nigel Arnold, who made it into the forties. On the bowling front Agha Khan, Andy Owen, Mick Butler, Fuff Munnelly, Colin Freeman and Rog Shelly all took 3 or more wickets in a match. Most catches was shared by Alan Burge and Phil Bradford, who both took nine each. On the partnership front to Agha Khan and Nigel Arnold for a century stand and to Rog Shelley and John ??? who shared a 91-run unbeaten partnership in only our second ever ten-wicket win.

We broke our hoodoo in cup games, winning our first round against Bassingbourn by 4 wickets and then going out in the next round to Stretham.

As usual we had our tour weekend, again going to Worksop. We won on the Saturday and lost on the Sunday.

On September 8 we again went travelling, this time to Wood Green to play against Nigel's former team. The turn-out was disappointing from Romsey players, and we had to borrow two players from Wilburton; but it was a great day out and we won by 5 wickets.

Turning our attention to indoor cricket, it was also nice to see us set our best record, winning 6 out of 12 games. It was nice to see so many players interested in playing, enabling us to operate on a rota system.

At the annual dinner ten-year awards were made to Steve Shelley, Andy Owen, Russell Woolf and Agha Khan.